One-Punch Meh: Season 2 Review

Last year I reviewed the first season of One-Punch Man and I absolutely loved it. As I mentioned to others how much I loved the first season, I was often given a sad look when people would talk about the second season. Some people would say it’s awful and disappointing whilst others would say it’s just okay. Yesterday I binged the second season and went in without any prejudice but I had many thoughts. 

Season two picks up where the first season left off and Saitama is still trying to make his way up the ranks of the hero association. In this season, we see Saitama make friends with fellow hero King whilst Genos fights. Basically that’s the entire season. Of course, we have a new character named Garou who fights the heroes and a new antagonist group called the Monster Association. 

Unfortunately, I found the season not very compelling or interesting. The only new addition I liked was Garou but it took a few episodes for him to grow on me. In reality, we barely see Saitama this season and he is only brought in as the deus ex machina when he’s needed. That was my biggest problem with this season as we barely had Genos and Saitama together. They were the brilliance of the first season as they had huge chemistry and it was fun to watch – but in this season they are mainly apart. 

In season two, they try to show more of the world and build it up but unfortunately it’s not unique or impressive. I may be biased because I just caught up with My Hero Academia which did some of the best world building I’ve seen and completely changed the superhero genre. Unfortunately, the side characters aren’t interesting and Saitama is the special one that we want to see and hear his wit.

The season ends abruptly and I feel like the season didn’t find its stride until the last few episodes. I loved the latter half of season two but felt the 70% of it just didn’t fit. The martial arts tournament was not great and we had a huge build up of seeing Saitama which felt strange. 

Overall it wasn’t the worst anime season I’ve watched but it wasn’t great when compared to the first season. Honestly, do yourself a favour and just try not to go into season two hyped. If you want an outstanding superhero anime that is consistently amazing and brings you to the edge, then check out My Hero Academia as I’ve yet to be disappointed with that.

One thought on “One-Punch Meh: Season 2 Review

Leave a comment